Moments of Clarity

You may (or may not) have noticed that I’ve been somewhat lacking with my blog activity. That has not been for lack of actual activity! A few weeks ago, I began eating a little cleaner, but before that I can count dinners at Atelier Crenn, Wayfare Tavern, another flour + water feast, AQ, and even a feature in the Wall Street Journal about a meal at Incanto.

One thing I was wondering during the break, was why do people feel the need to “brag” about their culinary endeavors? Maybe brag is the wrong word. But it’s just so interesting with Foursquare, Facebook, Instagram, Twitpic, h0w a meal is shared with so many. I will be the first to admit that I am 100% guilty — I most certainly enjoy sharing my experiences. But I feel that there is a fine line between simply sharing and going over the top.

I might get a lot of flack for saying this, but over weeks during my break, I realized that it’s just food. I’ve been fortunate to enjoy divine meals here in San Francisco and beyond, and for that I feel like the luckiest girl in the world. And I hope that I continue to add to my culinary adventures. However something struck me — for all of my indulgences, there are millions of children starving out there in the world. For all of the wine and cocktails that I consume, there are people in third world countries that can’t even get clean drinking water.

So I am challenging myself to stop turning a blind eye. To donate my time and money to causes that are greater than just filling my plate. Because there is something that I am also learning: that eating is biological (weird, huh). Why do we continue to eat, even when we are full? Why do some feel they must order everything on the menu? Why is dining out a source of pride? I’m trying to figure out if it’s the city that we live in, the industry that I am in, or just the people that I associate with. Don’t get me wrong — I love my friends and acquaintances, but sometimes it sometimes feels like a one upsmanship of who’s been where, if you’ve been to the newest restaurant/bar/popup/etc. I feel a mix of guilt and pleasure when I attend an event and turn down what is offered, because a) I am proving to myself that I can say “no”, but at the same time b) there are homeless people all over, huddled in storefronts who would kill for that crabcake. Maybe this is my own first world problem realized.

Anyway, I am back to my normal eating, but these thoughts have stuck with me. Some ways I’ve planned to give back is through volunteering at Glide and pledging a certain amount of money monthly to a charity. Just $3 will serve a hot meal to someone that is less fortunate! Think about it….

Leave a comment

Filed under Empowerment

Leave a Reply

