Museum Monday

Okay, so I didn’t really go to the museum on a Monday — I mean, who has the time with a 9 to 5 right?

I did, however, get to San Francisco’s Museum of Modern Art on a Sunday a few weeks back to check out the “How Wine Became Modern: Design + Wine 1976 to Now” Exhibit which closed on April 17th. This was a pretty awesome, modern exhibit and naturally the oenophile in me needed to see what it was all about.

Before we got to the main attraction, I met up with a friend and we perused the art on the first few floors. There was some modern art (as always), pieces by Frieda Kahlo, and there was also a really trippy Voyeurism exhibit. It was pretty graphic and not for the young, but this exhibit opened my eyes up to all of the violations that can take place when our photo is taken without our consent.

The famous "Flower Carrier" by Diego Rivera

We finally made it to the big kahuna – the How Wine Became Modern Exhibit. It was a wine lover’s dream and had great displays on The Judgment of Paris, the various types of stemware, decanters and the like, and a wine label exhibit (which was my personal favorite). Unfortunately my photos don’t do [art] justice, as the entire wall was grouped into clusters according to wine label. I don’t know about you all, but I always find wine label art fascinating and love comparing the modern/artistic vs. traditional/minimalist wine labels.

Kenwood Bottle with the famous "Starry Night" by Vincent Van Gogh

I’ve included some photos in this post but the remainder can be found in my Flickr set San Francisco Museum of Modern Art.

The next special exhibition due to hit SF MoMa is The Steins Collect: Matisse, Picasso, and the Parisian Avant-Garde which runs from May 21 to September 6, 2011. I recommend you go check it out! Maybe I will run into you while gazing at Femme au chapeau by Matisse (one of my favs!).

xo.

2 Comments

Filed under San Francisco, Things to do in sf

2 responses to “Museum Monday

  1. Katrina

    I loved this museum outing too! Made me appreciate those tasty grapes even more 🙂 I can’t wait for the avant-garde exhibit!

  2. Linda

    Can I just say…..I love you and love reading about your excellent adventures! Keep up the brilliant work Ash.

Leave a Reply

