San Francisco Ballet

If I were to recommend an exquisite, cultured evening it would be to attend the San Francisco Ballet. Located at the War Memorial Opera House, this would be a fun girl’s night out in the theater district!

Composer Sergei Prokofiev and Choreographer Yuri Possokhov’s “Classical Symphony” was my first introduction to the ballet. Possokhov, trained in classical Russian tradition and inspired by ballet history, choreographed a lovely, uplifting performance.

“Nanna’s Lied” by composers Kurt Weill and Friedrich Hollaender, and the famed Helgi Tomasson, was beautiful! It was unique in the fact that the performance was accompanied by live song. It was the emotional story of relinquishing one’s innocence and love lost, and really struck a cord with me. The costume design was beautiful and Tomasson is an extremely talented choreographer. I thought it was amazing that I knew exactly what the performance was about without having read the program.

The final performance, “Artifact Suite” by Composers Johann Sebastian Bach and Eva Crossman-Hecht and Choreographer William Forsythe, was simply stunning. Twenty seven dancers took the stage for this contemporary performance, and their complex movement kept me on the edge of my seat and glued to the stage. When I closed my eyes (only for a second!), I could feel the passion and fire in the room. It was physically and visually captivating.

I would highly recommend seeing the ballet at least once in your lifetime! It is perfect for those who are not able to sit still for very long – we had 2 intermissions, which left the perfect opportunity for bathroom breaks. There is a great restaurant nearby called Jardiniere, which would be great pre- or post- show.


This evening brought back childhood dreams of becoming a ballerina and dressing up in pink tutus, and I loved my stroll down memory lane.

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture, San Francisco, Things to do in sf

Leave a Reply

