Museums on MLK Jr Day

Well, well, well, I hope if you were lucky enough to have a three-day weekend that you enjoyed that extra day! Thank you, Martin Luther King, Jr. Hopefully you were able to take advantage of the long weekend AND remembered to pay tribute to the leader of the civil rights movement.

I awoke Monday morning to the sound of fog horns, natch. Any wonder why flights were delayed at SFO? Anywhoo, I digress…so I woke up to those darn fog horns, thinking “This day must not be waste”. I consulted one of my go-to websites, Funcheap’s San Francisco City Guide. Hint: the website has great recommendations for things to do in this grand city of ours.  I saw that the Museum of African Diaspora and the Contemporary Jewish Museum were both offering free admission in honor of the holiday, so I decided to check those out. Also, I’ve been wanting to try the Vietnamese Bahn Mi at Spice Kit so I decided to make a day of it!

I started with a walk to Spice Kit — hey, need to burn those calories! I ordered a Roasted Pork Bahn Mi with an extra spread of housemade pate, a Vienamese iced coffee, and a side of Lotus chips. Yum! The chips were perfectly salty and crunchy and the sandwich was divine! I loved the extra kick of the jalepenos.

Then it was off to the Museum of African Diaspora. They had some educational films running and sidewalk chalk art goin’ on. I read some neat stuff about tribal masks and their uses, but didn’t stay long.

After the MoAD, I mosey-ed on over to the Contemporary Jewish Museum. Wow, what a building! The architecture was great. It was the historic Jessie Street PG&E Power substation which played a large part in restoring energy to the city after the 1906 earthquake.

Naturally, my first stop was the Curious George exhibit. It chronicled the plight of Curious George creators, Margaret and H.A. Rey. See my photo below? If it looks a little blurry, it’s because there was a gentleman over my right shoulder telling me to put my camera away! It was also interesting to see the reclaimed artwork of Jacques Goudstikker and the exhibit called The Torah Project.

After my excursions, it was time for a peaceful, mind-clearing walk home along the Embarcadero!

What are some fun things you do on a day all to yourself?

Leave a comment

Filed under San Francisco, Things to do in sf, Weekend Warrior

Leave a Reply

